Wenger Commando Day Date

There’s something about the Wenger Commando (quartz) that does it for me every time I see it.  It just looks right and whilst I love the classic look of the chrono, for me as I hardly ever use such a feature, the button-less Day and Date version I feature here, has to be a sure fire winner – and at reasonable cost.

Commando Day Date XL 70172 Swiss Watch

Commando Day Date XL 70172 Swiss Watch

Swiss made and basically what you see is what you get – no gimmicks, no extraneous stuff, but a watch that will live with you and give great service, day or night.

This watch has a dial that others envy I’m sure as it is clarity, clarity, clarity!  Wonderful bright green Super Luminova hands and indices with a Day and Date window @3 and a reasonably large easily operated crown and all set in a smooth black Ion plated stainless steel case with a silicon rubber buckle strap.  The dial under the Sapphire coated crystal seems larger than it really is, as it takes up most of the 40 mm diameter case and with a depth of under 12 mm the watch also manages to be a really neat wrist fit.

Water Resistance is pretty good too at 100m with a polished stainless steel engraved screw back.Ashampoo_Snap_2015.08.20_18h44m27s_004_

Like the Swiss Army Knife, the Wenger Commando Day Date model is also dependable and practical and does it’s job very well, no more, no less and with all the stuff that appears one minute and gone the next today, there’s something comforting about that.

A Victorinox Group company yet with their own independent model range including of course the Swiss Army Knife.

I confess to having a Commando model some years ago and as a collector it happened to be one of those I moved on, to facilitate my new collections ideas. A decision I did regret I have to say even at the time.  However as with all “good” things, it’s still available and as pleasing now as it was then, so I’m pretty sure as it’s priced around £170 in the UK, I’ll be wearing one in the not too distant future.

Leave a Reply

