Quick glance? – 2

Another pair of those “modern” watches that are really outwith my “quick glance” category – ie: models where telling the time can sometimes take a little bit of time!
First off today is this rather unique watch from 666 Barcelona – called the Barcelona Urban Dual Time Zone Automatic-Circle watch!

666 Barcelona - 3 dials, 2 Time Zones

666 Barcelona Urban – 3 dials, 2 Time Zones

Now OK I’ve already got a splitting headache coming on, yet it does work in an odd way (if you’re partial to migraines) as it uses a 3 or is it 4 dial, if not quite conventional display, in a slightly different manner from the normal.
Quite cleverly it displays the Minutes with the large thick centre hand and the two sort of sub-dial either side tell the Hours in two different Time Zones.  The smaller dial at the bottom shows Seconds – which is actually quite neat when you think about it.  And that’s my problem of course, you do have to think about it, as you have to estimate the hour and minutes against the very outer edge 0 – 60 track markings, with hands that are just a bit short as accurate pointers.

The watch dimensions are 53mm x 45mm wide x 10mm depth, so a decent size, though even at that, if you’ve forgotten you spectacles, you’d be quicker just asking someone the time – it might be easier!
Now I think the left Time Zone reads 1:05 and the right Time Zone reads about 7:35, but I’m not really sure.  I feel I want to get a ruler and extend the hands nearer to the outer time track, but hardly practical.

666 Barclona with 2 Time Zones

666 Barcelona Urban with 2 Time Zones

This next image shows different times –  I think the left one is the standard sale time of 10:10 and the right one is 7:10?  – even with the straight on view this is pretty tricky to judge.   So as a not so “quick glance” watch – it’s a winner.

Which is a pity as perversely I quite like it! even though that migraine is simply NOT going away!

But the next model is moving ever towards epilepsy!

The JCDC Castelbajac designed “Space cowboy” watch seems to be a contradiction in terms – and by that I mean “design” and “watch” seem distinctly at odds with each other.  The prime function of the watch concept seems to have gone walk about and for me is really quite relevant, as I struggle to even see the hands against this childlike scribble on the dial background

JCDC Castelbajac design "Gone with the wind"

JCDC Castelbajac design “Gone with the wind”

With the conflicting black lines of the sketch? and the black hands I find that to read the time is just about impossible.  I do believe the three year old daughter of a neighbor of mine could easily improve this by having a go with the artist paint set she got for Christmas – I really do.

So once again it’s pretty obvious this model also doesn’t pass my “quick glance” test . . . . . . . not even close!

Note – I hasten to add here that the opinions expressed are entirely my own, subjective as they no doubt are, but nevertheless are personal.  There may well be folks out there who disagree and regard these models highly and of course I fully respect their opinions too.
If they would be so kind as to let me know the name of their optometrist, I would eternally grateful. 
;-

Leave a Reply

