Wenger – Swiss Army knife stuff

Wenger is a name I haven’t heard about much since I had one of their models some years ago.  I do remember that it was actually a very good watch, though the range at that time seemed limited, in that each”Wenger” looked much the same as any other model.  Perhaps I was being unfair at the time, but checking out their stuff today I find a rejuvenated brand that sports some really neat models and worthy of a look, especially at the lower end of their price range.

Wenger Roadster 0851.106 Date watchI’m impressed too that even at this lower price, each model has Sapphire crystal and a decent Water Resistance.

This is the Wenger Roadster 0851.106, a 45mm x 12mm Stainless Steel model with military dial markings and date.  The 106 code denotes the orange 22mm silicon band (the 105 has black band).  A uni-directional PVD coated bezel surrounds the black dial and the numerals, markers and hands are luminous.  Swiss Ronda 515 Quartz movement and 100m Water Resistance. (Amazon quote Water Resistance as 50m and hardened mineral crystal – both of which are incorrect – see watch back image below).

Note 100m Water Resistance & Sapphire Coated crystal.

Wenger Commando Black Line 70172

A neat red centre seconds hand sets off the dial nicely, the end result being a very pleasing model.  The fact that this watch retails for somewhere in the £139 region to me represents good value.

The second model that takes my fancy is this really sweet “Commando” Black Line.  40mm x 11.5mm PVD and Steel case, screw down crown, 100m Water Resistance, sapphire crystal and luminous markers on the 3 hand display.  Day and Date window @3, Swiss Ronda 517-1 quartz movement plus a few color variations make this a popular model and one that certainly interests me.

The Commando Black line featured here retails for around £150 – again good value.

Wenger now have around 15 models with a whole host of variations offered and personally I’m really pleased to see this updated range, firstly as I’ve always rated their products and secondly as they do represent pretty good value, considering the excellent quality of their watches.

Finally here’s a selection of a few of their Commando and Squadron range –

Just a few Wengers froma comprehensive range
Just a few models from a comprehensive range, shows a neat line up of pretty good value for money watches that look great on the wrist.  So definitely worth a look to see what’s on offer and I reckon you won’t be disappointed with whatever model you choose.  They are certainly on my list to watch and I might just get myself another model as I actually miss not having my old one.

//

Leave a Reply

