Casio & silicon deployment

My last post featured a Casio model I dubbed a holiday watch that wasn’t and in the post I mentioned that fitting a replacement strap such as a NATO one would be very difficult owing to the space between the spring bars and the case being too neat.  My second choice however is the silicon deployment fold-over strap and I noted that IF I was able to fit one I’d post the images here.

5 Minutes with a craft knife and in my opinion a much better fit than standard.

5 Minutes with a craft knife and in my opinion a much better fit than standard.

The actual strap size of more accurately the spring bar gap in the lugs is 18mm, but an 18mm silicon strap does not do the watch justice.  You will note that the original Casio strap is not 18mm either, but nearer 20mm and suits the overall look  just fine.

SO I took an 20mm strap and carefully (with a craft knife) reduced it at the pin area either side to allow for the lugs and to enable fitting to the 18mm gap.  The wider strap sets of the watch really well – and here is the result.

Alternative silicon deployment strap, 20mm on 18mm lugs.

Alternative silicon deployment strap, 20mm on 18mm lugs.

Another upside I think is the much neater wrist fit as the flexibility and flat profile of this strap holds the watch closer to the wrist and it doesn’t move, at all.  I find that most strap with buckles and especially rubber/resin ones do move the watch around the wrist as if strapped on too tightly the “divers” wave profile on the strap can dig in to the wrist and can become quite uncomfortable.  This alternative completely eliminates any problem.

In fact this was so successful, I may have a look in my watch boxes and see if there are others that could benefit from this treatment – also as these straps are only £7 to £9 approximately, it’s not a daft idea!

Leave a Reply

