Junkers GMT

Looking through my collection the other day I realized that I had never posted this nice Junkers GMT.  OK it’s a quartz version but nothing wrong in that – it keeps great time and is a good looking watch to wear.

Junkers 6278-5 series GMT

It came with a Titanium bracelet to match the satin finished Titanium case (holds the weight down to only 43gm), but at the moment I seem to have a fetish going – I’m retro-fitting quite a few of my larger watches with Silicon deployment straps, replacing both Nato and OEM straps or bracelets – and don’t they look good!

The proper model name for this version is the 6278-5M and it features a Swiss Ronda 509 Quartz movement which keeps very good time I have to say.  It has a GMT pointer which can be freely adjusted alternatively to give you a dual time zone function, which is quite handy.  Date window @3, black mat finish dial and bright orange markers and hands.  These feature Super Luminova so are readable in low or night light.

GMT on the wrist

Dimensions wise it 42mm x 12mm and has 22mm strap/lug with with standard spring bars, so all strap options are possible.  Water Resistance is 5ATM so don’t try scuba diving with it, just normal wearing.

As said the movement is the Swiss 509 Ronda which uses a 371 battery with a life of over 3 years.  Accuracy around -10/ +20 sec/month.

Great watch to wear and I particularly like my new Silicon deployment strap – it suits it rather well and an awful lot easier to take on and off than the old Nato.  I have to admit to being quite partial to the Junkers range of watches as they are well priced, very well engineered and in my experience extremely reliable too.

So it’s quite possible I might be on the lookout for another one – maybe from their mechanical range this though it depends on what takes my eye!

//

Leave a Reply

